Chasing Hubble s Shadows

Chasing Hubble s Shadows

Chasing Hubble s Shadows

Chasing Hubble's Shadows is an account of the continuing efforts of astronomers to probe the outermost limits of the observable universe. The book derives its title from something the great American astronomer Edwin Hubble once wrote: "Eventually, we reach the dim boundary—the utmost limits of our telescopes. There, we measure shadows, and we search among ghostly errors of measurement for landmarks that are scarcely more substantial." The quest for Hubble's "shadows"—those unimaginably distant, wispy traces of stars and galaxies that formed within the first few hundred million years after the Big Bang—takes us back, in effect, to the beginning of time as we are able to perceive it, when the first discrete stellar objects appeared out of what has lately come to be known as the "cosmic dark age." The information that is being gleaned from these dim sources—chiefly with the aid of Hubble's namesake, the Hubble Space Telescope—promises to yield clues to many cosmic puzzles, including the nature of the mysterious "dark energy" that is now believed to pervade all of space.

Chasing Shadows

Chasing Shadows

Chasing Shadows

“A superb novel about grief, friendship, and mental illness, mixing in graphic-novel elements and themes from Hindu mythology.” —Publishers Weekly, Starred Corey, Holly, and Savitri are closer than family until a random act of violence shatters their world. A gunman shoots at their car, leaving Corey dead, Holly in a coma, and Savitri the sole witness to the crime. When Holly wakes up, she is changed—determined to hunt down Corey’s killer, whatever the cost. Savitri fears that Holly is running wild, losing her grip on reality. Friends should stand by each other in times of crisis. But can you hold on too tight? Too long? Swati Avasthi delivers a riveting novel that will appeal to fans of Laini Taylor and Laurie Halse Anderson. “Haunting, mesmerizing and intense.” —Kirkus Reviews, Starred “[A] visceral story of love, grief, and madness that is both action-packed and psychologically acute.” —The Horn Book

Chasing Shadows

Chasing Shadows

Chasing Shadows

Hugo Gryn made a huge impression on the general public with his Radio 4's The Moral Maze: his wisdom, humour and compassion shone through the programme so that his sudden death in 1996 was greeted with great sadness. Few people knew though of his extraordinary life. This book consists of two separate memoirs written 40 years apart, which tell of his idyllic childhood in Berehovo in the Carpathian mountains and the increasing shadows thrown by the Nazis - until Hugo and his family were deported to Auschwitz. He describes the horrors but also the small acts of human courage and kindness.

Chasing Thin Shadows

Chasing Thin Shadows

Chasing Thin Shadows

This book explains the entire process of paranormal investigating from initial contact by someone experiencing a paranormal situation to case resolution. This guide examines preparative steps to conduct an investigation, provides investigative procedures, outlines data analysis techniques, and demonstrates how to present your findings professionally. It is highly recommended for anyone desiring to join a paranormal investigative team or start their own.

Chasing Shadows

Chasing Shadows

Chasing Shadows

They hide in the shadows to protect our country…can they protect their hearts? New York Times Bestseller CJ Lyons has been praised as a "Master of the Genre" (Pittsburgh Magazine) for her romantic thrillers. Join CJ as she starts a sexy, fun-filled, adrenaline rush of a new series: Shadow Ops. CHASING SHADOWS (Shadow Ops Book #1): Going undercover, playing the part of a disgraced former Marine, is easy for Chase Westin--until a Christmas Eve mission takes him back to his hometown and face to face with his estranged brother. When KC, an undercover FBI agent, flies into Chase's life with her Doc Martens, purple, punk-rock hair, and Hollywood-hype leather and chains, Chase realizes that falling in love is more dangerous than catching bullets. *** Keywords: CJ Lyons, Lyons, Lucy Guardino, Beacon Falls, FBI Thrillers, Hart and Drake, Renegade Justice, Morgan Ames, medical thriller suspense crime novel series, homicide detective alpha hero action romance, emergency hospital doctor physician woman sleuth, serial killer dark edgy intense police procedural, FBI kidnapping murder, historical Munchausen Nazi French Resistance, uplifting romantic Christmas holiday wedding, military navy marine army soldier, spies espionage CIA FBI ATF covert action, adventure wilderness survival intrigue, exciting alpha hero pulp terrorism, strong heroine doctor ranger SEAL, uplifting romantic action-adventure Force Recon, medical wedding wounded warrior Delta, dark edgy disturbing crime fiction suspense, FBI police female detective, edge seat terrific serial killer kidnap, vigilante fast action adventure pulp, terror ATF DEA spies Pittsburgh intrigue, intense thrill gripping authentic, cyber adrenalin great summer read, Thrilling kick ass fast-paced, hero serial killer crime fiction, strong female gripping high stakes adventure, compelling action packed authentic intense, page turner stayed up all night, great story hooked twist adrenaline rush, vivid quick summer beach read, believable not to be missed five stars, intelligent powerful dark edgy action thrill ride, keeps you guessing edge of the sear terrific, genetic mutation, serial killer, paranormal psychic telepathy, police detective, female protagonist woman sleuth, dark disturbing edgy moody noir, hard-boiled mystery thriller suspense, medical sociopath psychopath, lethal dying death, romance romantic love story, disease supernatural, homicide murder, ER emergency room doctor physician, conspiracy, bestseller, thrillers with heart, Lee Child, Stephen White, Lisa Gardner, Sandra Brown, Allison Brennan, Heather Graham, Tess Gerritsen, Steve Berry, Jeffery Deaver, Michael Palmer, Lisa Scottoline, Catherine Coulter, JT Ellison, Debra Webb, Lisa Jackson, Douglas Preston, Karin Slaughter, Patricia Cornwell, Lisa Unger, Tami Hoag, Robin Cook, Harlan Coben, Iris Johansen, Cathy Reichs, JD Robb Dean Koontz, Liliana Hart, Suzanne Brockmann, Carla Neggers

Double Shadow

Double Shadow

Double Shadow


Chasing the Monk s Shadow

Chasing the Monk s Shadow

Chasing the Monk s Shadow

In the seventh century AD, the Chinese monk Xuanzang set off on an epic journey to India to study Buddhist philosophy from the Indian masters. Traveling along the Silk Road, braving brigands and blizzards, Xuanzang finally reached India, where his spiritual quest took him to Buddhist holy places and monasteries throughout the subcontinent. Fourteen hundred years later, Mishi Saran follows in Xuanzang's footsteps to the fabled oasis cities of China and Central Asia, and the Buddhist sites and now-vanished kingdoms in India, Pakistan and Afghanistan that Xuanzang wrote about. Traveling seamlessly back and forth in time between the seventh century and the twenty-first, Saran uncovers the past with consummate skill even as she brings alive the present through her vivid and engaging descriptions of people and places. A riveting mix of lively reportage, high adventure, historical inquiry and personal memoir, this delightfully written book is a path-breaking travelogue.

The Oxford Book of Modern Australian Verse

The Oxford Book of Modern Australian Verse

The Oxford Book of Modern Australian Verse

Australia has produced many fine poets over the past half-century, and in this new anthology the noted Australian poet Peter Porter has compiled a strikingly original and impartial collection of modern Australian verse commencing in 1945. Almost 130 poets are represented - from the vauntedgeneration of R. D. Fitzgerald, A. D. Hope, and Elizabeth Riddell, to young emerging poets of the calibre of John Kinsella, Lisa Jacobson, and Judith Bishop. With an emphasis on wit, satire, and technical virtuosity, the collection offers many wonderful poems by such famous names as Les Murray,Francis Webb, Gwen Harwood, David Malouf, Dorothy Porter, and Chris Wallace-Crabbe.

Chasing Shadows

Chasing Shadows

Chasing Shadows

Kathleen O'Connor (1876-1968) was born in New Zealand, brought up in Perth, Western Australia, and established her professional career in Paris where she settled in 1908, embracing the bohemian lifestyle of the intellectuals and creative people who gravitated to the city from all corners of the world. She lived in the artists' quarter on the Left Bank, breakfasted at the Cafe du Dome, went to artists' balls and exhibited successfully at the Autumn Salon and the Union des Femmes Peintres. Although she made infrequent visits to her family in Australia and two World Wars forced her to flee France, Paris remained her home until she was almost eighty when she returned to live in Perth. Nevertheless her influence in Australia was considerable, particularly in the 1920s when she wrote a regular column about Parisian fashion and society for a Western Australian magazine. In the early years in Paris she embraced an impressionistic style and her paintings of Parisians at leisure in the Luxembourg Gardens charmingly capture the flavour of the period. During the First World War she lived in Bloomsbury, London, where the art world was dominated by Post-Impressionism. Her palette and style changed dramatically and the rich colours and varied textures demonstrated her commitment to the new aesthetic. At the conclusion of the war she quickly re-immersed herself in Parisian life. Still-life, often incorporating autobiographical aspects, became her favoured subject and the site for her explorations of modernism. She became involved in the decorative arts and fashion world, providing designs for leading fashion designers Paul Poiret and Maurice Dufrene. The influence of Art Deco can be seen in some of hermajor tempera paintings and hand-painted textiles from this period. During the thirties her work was constantly mentioned in Parisian reviews and in 1936 she exhibited alongside Bonnard, de Chirico and Dufy. However, the Second World War put an end to her aspirations and Paris a