Telegrams and Teacakes

Telegrams and Teacakes

Telegrams and Teacakes


Wartime Brides and Wedding Cakes

Wartime Brides and Wedding Cakes

Wartime Brides and Wedding Cakes

January 1941: As Charlie Barton tiptoes silently out of the house one cold winter morning to go off and fight for his country, his wife Audrey is left to run the family bakery on her own. Times are tougher than ever, but at the Barton Bakery in Bournemouth, Audrey is determined as always to serve the town with love, loaves and cakes, even as the town is reeling from the struggles of the Blitz. Audrey’s brother William has returned from battle with serious wounds. His fiancé Elsie is waiting for wedding bells, but William is a changed man, and will her hopes be in vain? Bakery helper Maggie has her heart set on dashing officer George. But will George still want to marry her when he discovers the truth about her family? And Lily, Audrey’s stepsister, is struggling to raise her illegitimate baby and facing judgement from many in the town. The man who broke her heart returns with an offer, and Lily faces a hard decision about where her future lies. When disaster strikes the bakery, Audrey fears that everything she has worked for may be ruined. With her shop threatened and her family in turmoil, can she fight to save everything she holds dear? Wartime Brides and Wedding Cakes is a romantic and heart-warming tale of cakes and confetti, perfect for fans of Sheila Newberry, Nadine Dorries and Ellie Dean. What readers are saying about Wartime Brides and Wedding Cakes: ‘Heart-warming and emotional and a book that I didn't put down until I turned the last page. I couldn't help myself but devour this gorgeous story in one go.’ By the Letter Book Reviews, 5 stars ‘Full of emotion, sadness and plenty of laughter. I couldn’t put this book down and it kept me hooked until the very last page.’ Stardust Book Reviews, 5 stars ‘I whizzed through this book in two days. I was utterly engrossed… heart-warming saga at its best.’ Short Book and Scribes, 5 stars ‘Immensely entertaining and uplifting… I look forward immensely to catching up with these characters again in future!’ Novel Deelights, 5 stars ‘This is the first book I’ve ready by Amy Miller, and it will not be my last… I loved this book… a beautifully written book about continuing to live, even though there is a war going on around you. It is optimistic and a wonderful read.’ Kristin’s Novel Café, 5 stars ‘Heartbreaking yet heart-warming series… a touching story of family, friendship and love.’ Little Miss No Sleep, 5 stars ‘A lovely heart-warming book, full of emotion, sadness and laughter… uplifting… such a bitter sweet read... The story kept me hooked until the very last page.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars ‘Heart-warming and heart-wrenching… I can't wait to read more in this series. It was a real page-turner. I couldn't put it down.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars ‘Heartbreaking, heart-warming and utterly divine… a book which is destined to make you see life in a different light.’ The Writing Garnet, 5 stars ‘I was enchanted… wonderful… I am so looking forward to reading the next book in the series… 5 well deserved stars from me.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars ‘There's so much to love about this story.’ The Well-Read Pirate Queen, 5 stars ‘The perfect blend of romance, family and intrigue, anyone who wants to relax with a cosy book will enjoy this one.’ The Help Meet Wife, 5 stars

The Day My Husband Left

The Day My Husband Left

The Day My Husband Left

I didn’t think there was life after you, but you left me a gift on the day you died that changed everything for me… On the day Heidi’s husband, Johnny, died, he passed on a final token of his love – a precious photograph of his last moments. As Heidi pores over the image, she sees a busy street scene and a pavement full of strangers – but she has no idea what this last message from her beloved husband could mean. Heidi has spent her days – and her years – in her workshop, giving cherished old furniture a second chance. But there are some parts of Heidi’s own life that are beyond repair. Secrets that Heidi and Johnny kept throughout their long marriage. Things that they were never brave enough to speak about. All Heidi knows now is that this picture of her husband’s final moments is where she has to start looking for clues. When she visits the busy street from the photograph, she suddenly comes face to face with the person Johnny had been meeting that day – someone she herself has spent a lifetime longing to know. But is she ready for what they’ll tell her and how will the rest of her family react when she brings them home? The Day My Husband Left will make you cry, laugh, hope, and learn how to put the broken bits of your own life back together again. Perfect for readers who love Jojo Moyes, Susan Lewis and Ruth Hogan. What readers are saying about The Day My Husband Left: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘A fabulous read… The storyline was emotional and reduced me to tears on several occasions… A wonderful, heart-warming, emotional and captivating read… I would highly recommend it, just don’t forget to keep the tissues handy!’ Stardust Book Reviews ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘A beautifully written heartfelt read… Makes for a truly great story that will stay with you for a long time!’ Goodreads reviewer ‘What an amazing read… Unpredictable and moving… It is a difficult book to put down.’ Goodreads reviewer ‘An emotional, moving story. A book that drew me in from the beginning.’ NetGalley reviewer ‘A great read.’ Goodreads reviewer What readers are saying about Amy Miller: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘I loved this book from the very first to the very last page.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘This is an amazing book. I loved it.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘A heart-warming, relaxing and lovely book.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘A truly fantastic, emotional and heart-warming story… If I could give this book more than five stars, I would. It deserves an entire constellation, that’s for sure!’ The Writing Garnet ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘I absolutely loved every minute of it!… A truly heart-warming and uplifting story and I honestly can’t wait to read more.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘A beautiful, beautiful story.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘I couldn’t put this book down and it kept me hooked until the very last page.’ Stardust Book Reviews ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘Beautifully written, heartfelt and also feel-good… I love reading stories likes this… It gives me a warm and fuzzy feeling inside.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘Heart-warming and beautiful! Fabulous story and definitely worthy of more than five stars.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘Wonderful… A book I literally could not put down… I loved every minute of it and I didn’t want it to end… A heartfelt and truly wonderful read. A story that you will easily lose yourself in.’ By the Letter Book Reviews ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 'A totally absorbing story.' Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘A very touching, beautiful book.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘I cannot recommend this book to you enough – I thought it was superb!’ Donna’s Book Blog ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘I absolutely loved every minute of it!… A truly heart-warming and uplifting story and I honestly can’t wait to read more.’ Goodreads reviewer

Kathleen s Story Heroism heartache and happiness in the wartime women s forces The Girls Who Went to War Book 3

Kathleen   s Story  Heroism  heartache and happiness in the wartime women   s forces  The Girls Who Went to War  Book 3

Kathleen s Story Heroism heartache and happiness in the wartime women s forces The Girls Who Went to War Book 3

From the bestselling authors of The Sugar Girls and GI Brides, this is Kathleen’s story, one of three true accounts from the book The Girls Who Went to War.

Red Velvet and Chocolate Heartache

Red Velvet and Chocolate Heartache

Red Velvet and Chocolate Heartache

DELICIOUS WHEAT-FREE CAKES THAT WILL REVOLUTIONISE YOUR BAKING Harry Eastwood loves cake: from light, fluffy Victoria Sponge to dark and delicious Forbidden Chocolate Brownies. In Red Velvet & Chocolate Heartache, she has fiddled, tweaked and thought outside the box to pioneer a way of bringing exquisite cakes that remain natural and healthy into our everyday lives - by introducing ingredients from the vegetable garden. Ginger Sticky Toffee Pudding made with parsnip, or Orange Squash Cupcakes made with butternut squash are bound to amuse and delight your tastebuds. In this spirited cookery book, Harry shares her baking secrets and practical knowledge as a cook and as a food writer to prove that it is possible to have your cake and eat it.

Heartache

Heartache

Heartache


A Cottage by the Sea

A Cottage by the Sea

A Cottage by the Sea

***HAPPINESS FOR BEGINNERS, the new book from BESTSELLING and BELOVED Carole Matthews, is available to buy in hardback, ebook and audio*** ________ Grace has been best friends with Ella and Flick forever. The late-night chats, shared heartaches and good times have created a bond that has stood the test of time. When Ella invites them to stay for a week in her cottage in South Wales, Grace jumps at the chance to see her old friends. She also hopes that the change of scenery will help her reconnect with her distant husband. Then Flick arrives; loveable, bubbly, incorrigible Flick, accompanied by the handsome and charming Noah. This is going to be one week which will change all their lives forever... Join Grace, Ella and Flick for a week of love, laughter, tears and friendship in A Cottage by the Sea