If Cats Disappeared From The World

If Cats Disappeared From The World

If Cats Disappeared From The World

A beautifully moving tale of loss and reaching out to the ones we love, of one man’s journey to discover what really matters in modern life. Our narrator’s days are numbered. Estranged from his family, living alone with only his cat Cabbage for company, he was unprepared for the doctor’s diagnosis that he has only months to live. But before he can set about tackling his bucket list, the Devil appears with a special offer: in exchange for making one thing in the world disappear, he can have one extra day of life. And so begins a very bizarre week . . . Because how do you decide what makes life worth living? How do you separate out what you can do without from what you hold dear? In dealing with the Devil our narrator will take himself – and his beloved cat – to the brink. Genki Kawamura's If Cats Disappeared from the World is a story of loss and reconciliation, of one man’s journey to discover what really matters in modern life. This beautiful tale is translated from the Japanese by Eric Selland, who also translated The Guest Cat by Takashi Hiraide. Fans of The Guest Cat and The Travelling Cat Chronicles will also surely love If Cats Disappeared from the World.

World History and Myths of Cats

World History and Myths of Cats

World History and Myths of Cats

Structured by country, this book explores the history and folklore of cats, from prehistoric to present times. The style is intentionally folksy in order to reproduce the sense of humour, puns or poetry of the different countries.

Dark Revelations The Role Playing Game The Book of Arrogance

Dark Revelations   The Role Playing Game   The Book of Arrogance

Dark Revelations The Role Playing Game The Book of Arrogance

Dark Revelations - the Role Playing Game is proud to present a unique and progressive new set of psychic rules. The all new Psychic Class, with new rules for psychic powers that is completely different than those for standard d20 3.5 SRD/OGL, yet familiar enough to play with ease. · In this new Psychic Class, you will get 4 new paths. The Eruptor, master of elemental damage and going a bit crazy when out of power. The Mentalist, your classic mind controller that can rip minds asunder. The Psycho-Warrior, a melee and front line psychic fighter and true weapons specialist. And, The Rocker! Who needs magical bards? We got psychic rock and rollers. · Use familiar psychic power tropes like empathy, pyrokinesis or telepathy, or fire laser beams of death using Photokinesis. Plus many new powers in organized power sets. · New and crazy races. You’ll find nothing ordinary here as we let you play from level 1 as Dragons and Cats…yes intelligent house cats. Also Minotaurs. Not as cursed creatures, but heroic hair metal rockers from a far off dimension. Plus our own creations of the Harvesters and Stumpies. One is a master psychic from seedling, while the other is tough and bit rough around the bark. And, yes both are plants. · Woowear, equipment to enhance all those new psychic powers you have. · Psi-tats, get some psychic tattoos to gain additional power. · The Sandbox of Ed-Town. Where rock and roll, and other psychically enhanced individuals have taken over. Meet folks like Axle Thunderpipes, the Devilish Dangerous Dr. D. and many others.

What If Tigers Disappeared

What If Tigers Disappeared

What If Tigers Disappeared

Tigers are the largest wild cats in the world. Though they are apex predators, these powerful creatures are vanishing from Earth. Shrinking habitats and poaching have brought tigers to the brink of extinction, forcing us to consider: What would the world be like without tigers? Readers will be fascinated by this edifying text, which takes a hard look at what would happen if tigers were to disappear. With eye-catching photographs, accessible language, and curricular content, this book is a must-read for bourgeoning environmentalists and anyone who cares about animals.

Isaac Asimov s Wonders of the World

Isaac Asimov s Wonders of the World

Isaac Asimov s Wonders of the World

Sixteen stories from Isaac Asimov's science fiction magazine.

City of Cats

City of Cats

City of Cats


The Work of Memory

The Work of Memory

The Work of Memory

Coming to terms with a troubled past is the mark of the modern condition. But how does memory operate? This powerful collection of original essays probes this question by focusing on Germany, where historical trauma and political turbulence over the past century have deeply scarred modern memory and identity. Tracing the role of memory in German history between the Reformation and reunification, contributors show how memory has a history and the presence of the past has historical context. With scholarly zeal and keen insight, these essays draw on ghost stories and the postwar fiction of Heinrich Böll, among other memory sites, escorting the reader through the streets of Alt Hildesheim and the grocery aisles of East Germany. By historicizing memory, this volume surpasses the efforts of previous memory scholarship in confronting Germany's National Socialist past. Standard approaches to memory in modern Germany have explored how the past represents social relations and is commemorated in literature, art, and personal narrative. In taking memory "out of the museum" and "beyond the monument," The Work of Memory investigates the ways memory forms social relations and is integral to the construction of identities, communities, and policies. Profound and provocative, The Work of Memory contributes to a much-needed anthropology of memory in modern Germany.