Scattered Seeds

Scattered Seeds

Scattered Seeds

While High Meadow is dealing with troublemakers and raiders, Wisp follows an invisible trail across the country to rescue Nick. What had started as a simple trip turns into an undercover operation for Nick, leaving Wisp to return to High Meadow on his own with a van full of children. In the search for answers, Nick learns that the problems are more complex than he imagined. The country’s minimal infrastructure is teetering on the brink of collapse. And the people in charge are not at all what he’d hoped. Angus predicts that the high mortality rate from the last round of flu could cause the disintegration of smaller settlements putting people on the road. With the train stations closed, there will be no food or shelter for these refugees, leaving them victim to marauders and starvation. As Tillie scrambles to plan for a winter without train food, the influx of refugees is eating up precious supplies. The world is changing again and they must adapt or die.

Scattered Seeds

Scattered Seeds

Scattered Seeds

As typical as donor-conceived children have become, with at least a million such children in the US alone, their experiences are still unusual in many ways. In Scattered Seeds, journalist and writer Jacqueline Mroz looks at the growth of sperm donation and assisted reproduction and how it affects the children who are born, the women who buy and use the sperm to have kids, and the sperm donors who donate their genetic material to help others procreate. With empathy and in-depth analysis, Scattered Seeds explores the sociology, psychology, and anthropology surrounding those connected with fertility procedures today and looks back at the history that brought us to this point. The personal stories in this book will put a human face on the issues and help to illuminate this country's controversial and troubling unregulated fertility industry-an industry that has been compared to the Wild, Wild West, where anything goes. What is the human cost of our country's unregulated fertility industry? How are the lives of sperm-donor families changed? Scattered Seeds will answer those questions, considering carefully the social and psychological dynamics surrounding those connected with fertility procedures today.

Scattered Seeds

Scattered Seeds

Scattered Seeds


Scattered Seeds

Scattered Seeds

Scattered Seeds

Descendants of Rabbi Israel, son of Rabbi Shalom, who was martyred in 1659 in Ruzhany, Lithuania. He had three sons: Menachem Nachum Za'k, Shimon Za'k and Sholem Za'k. Descendants and relatives lived mainly in Lithuania, Poland, Germany, Russia, Israel and New York.

Scattered Seed

Scattered Seed

Scattered Seed

They found a home, but can they ever be safe? Thirty years have passed since the Sandberg family arrived in Manchester, penniless and bewildered, after fleeing certain death in Russia. Sarah and Abraham’s children have forgotten the poverty and struggles of their youth and their grandchildren have never known such hardship. But the prosperity that has come with their adopted country has brought other problems. Sons David and Nathan have to face the strains of their arranged marriages, and feeling increasingly at odds with the mood of the nation. The year is 1935 and while Hitler rules in Germany the Fascists are marching in England... Can the Sandbergs keep hold of all they fought so hard for? The second book in the much-loved Almonds and Raisins series from international bestselling author Maisie Mosco, perfect for fans of Sheelagh Kelly and Jessica Stirling. Praise for Maisie Mosco ‘Once in every generation or so a book comes along which lifts the curtain’ Guardian 'Full of freshness and fascination’ Manchester Evening News “The undisputed queen of her genre’ Jewish Chronicle

Scattered Seeds

Scattered Seeds

Scattered Seeds


Scattered Seeds

Scattered Seeds

Scattered Seeds