The Baltic Gambit

The Baltic Gambit

The Baltic Gambit

January 1801, and Captain Alan Lewrie, Royal Navy, known as ""St. Alan the Liberator"" for freeing (stealing!) a dozen black slaves on Jamaica to man his frigate years before, is at last being brought to trial for it, with his life on the line. At the same time, Russia, Sweden, Denmark, and Prussia are forming a League of Armed Neutrality, to Napoleon Bonaparte's delight, to deny Great Britain their vital exports, even if it means war. England will need all her experienced sea dogs, but … even Alan Lewrie? Ultimately Lewrie is acquitted, but he's also ignored by the Navy, so it's half-pay on ""civvy street"" for him, and with idle time on his mischievous hands, Lewrie is sure to get himself in trouble---again!---especially if there are young women and his wastrel public school friends involved…and they are! A brawl in a Panton Saint brothel, a drunk, infatuated young Russian count, precede Lewrie's summons to Admiralty and the command of the Thermopylae frigate to replace an ill captain as the fleet gathers to face down the League of the North, and its instigator, the mad Tsar Paul. Lewrie must take the Thermopylae into the Baltic in the dead of winter, alone and with no support, to scout the enemy fleets and iced-in harbors, deal with a fellow officer who is less of a friend than he thought, and be saddled with a pair of Russian noblemen as a last-minute peace delegation, but if the wily Foreign Office spy-master, Zachariah Twigg, sent them, what else might their mission be? All that and the Battle of Copenhagen, too, and it's broadsides at close quarters, and treachery for Lewrie, forcing him to use all his wiles to survive! The Baltic Gambit is one of Dewey Lambdin's most enjoyable naval adventures yet.

The Baltic Gambit

The Baltic Gambit

The Baltic Gambit

January 1801, and Captain Alan Lewrie, RN, known as 'St. Alan the Liberator' for freeing a dozen slaves, is at last being brought to trial with his life on the line. At the same time, Russia, Sweden, Denmark, and Prussia are forming a League of Armed Neutrality, to Napoleon Bonaparte’s delight, to deny Great Britain their vital exports, even if it means war. England will need all her experienced sea dogs, but ... even Alan Lewrie? Ultimately he is acquitted, but he’s also ignored by the Navy, so it’s half-pay on civvy street for him, and with idle time on his mischievous hands, Lewrie is sure to get himself in trouble again! Lewrie is summoned to Admiralty and the command of the Thermopylae frigate as the fleet gathers to face down the League of the North and the mad Tsar Paul. He must venture into the Baltic in the dead of winter, alone and with no support, to scout the enemy fleets, saddled with a pair of Russian noblemen as a last-minute peace delegation, but if the wily Foreign Office spy-master, Zachariah Twigg, sent them, what else might their mission be? All that and the Battle of Copenhagen, too, and it’s broadsides at close quarters, and treachery for Lewrie, forcing him to use all his wiles to survive! Number fifteen in The Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures, The Baltic Gambit is perfect for fans of Patrick O'Brian, Julian Stockwin and C.S. Forester. ‘You could get addicted to this series. Easily’ New York Times Book Review 'The best naval series since C. S. Forester... Recommended’ Library Journal ‘Fast-moving... A hugely likeable hero, a huge cast of sharply drawn supporting characters: there's nothing missing. Wonderful stuff’ Kirkus Reviews

Baltic Gambit

Baltic Gambit

Baltic Gambit

In his latest Vampire Earth novel, national bestselling author E.E. Knight delivers a thrilling adventure when David Valentine’s loyal Lieutenant Alessa Duvalier disobeys his orders—and finds herself uncovering a betrayal… While out scouting in southern Indiana, Alessa Duvalier comes across a Kurian Conference being attended by every major military sect the Kurians have in the Midwest. Taking advantage of the strategic opportunity to cripple their enemy, Alessa and her warriors strike and achieve victory—only to discover an even greater threat to humanity. Most of the world’s resistance leaders and the Lifeweavers are gathering for a peace conference in Helsinki, Finland, and according to the intelligence materials Alessa recovered during her raid, the Kurians have already inserted an agent among the delegates. David Valentine is chosen to be head of security for the Army of Kentucky representatives—and Alessa ignores his order to stay behind. Now, thrust into a lethal intrigue that threatens the entire peace process, she learns that the Kurian agent may be the least of her concerns. For the Lifeweavers themselves are about to reveal something that will devastate the Resistance...

Baltic Gambit

Baltic Gambit

Baltic Gambit


The Baltic Defence the Grau Gambit

The Baltic Defence  the Grau Gambit

The Baltic Defence the Grau Gambit

This is a chess monograph called "The Baltic Defence: The Grau Gambit" which explores this chess opening: "1. d4 d5 2. c4 Bf5 3. Qb3 e5". The author has collected 53 completed chess games which are recorded in Algebraic Chess Notation. And there are 48 chess diagrams, too.

Nelson s Navy in Fiction and Film

Nelson s Navy in Fiction and Film

Nelson s Navy in Fiction and Film

This book provides summaries and analyses of more than 250 novels and nearly 30 films and examines the extent to which they accurately reflect the history, mores and manners of the period--and the extent to which they reveal the ideas and attitudes of their authors and of the periods in which they were written. Particular emphasis is placed on the nature and importance of the war at sea for the British and on the role of famous naval officers such as Nelson, Pellew, Duncan, Smith and Cochrane in the defeat of Napoleon.