The Cassandra

The Cassandra

The Cassandra

The Cassandra follows a woman who goes to work in a top secret research facility during WWII, only to be tormented by visions of what the mission will mean for humankind. Mildred Groves is an unusual young woman. Gifted and cursed with the ability to see the future, Mildred runs away from home to take a secretary position at the Hanford Research Center in the early 1940s. Hanford, a massive construction camp on the banks of the Columbia River in remote South Central Washington, exists to test and manufacture a mysterious product that will aid the war effort. Only the top generals and scientists know that this product is processed plutonium, for use in the first atomic bombs. Mildred is delighted, at first, to be part of something larger than herself after a lifetime spent as an outsider. But her new life takes a dark turn when she starts to have prophetic dreams about what will become of humankind if the project is successful. As the men she works for come closer to achieving their goals, her visions intensify to a nightmarish pitch, and she eventually risks everything to question those in power, putting her own physical and mental health in jeopardy. Inspired by the classic Greek myth, this 20th century reimagining of Cassandra's story is based on a real WWII compound that the author researched meticulously. A timely novel about patriarchy and militancy, The Cassandra uses both legend and history to look deep into man's capacity for destruction, and the resolve and compassion it takes to challenge the powerful.

The Cassandra Group

The Cassandra Group

The Cassandra Group

In this speculative socio-political novel, a prestigious think tank—The Cassandra Group—led by a military historian general is aiding the president of the United States behind the scenes in sensitive negotiations with a foreign leader. As part of the plan, three brilliant young predictive historians in the Cassandra Group are assigned to devise a way to uncover the foreign nation’s hidden ICBM launch sites. Cassandra has devised a way to locate these “missing” sites by supporting a spin-off group called The Searchers composed mostly of women with highly unusual talents and time-tested old fashioned strategies. But they work. Too well, perhaps. Then bad stuff happens and everything gets messy as each hidden launch site is located. Is The Cassandra Group helping or merely meddling with history? Does this information help with the president’s negotiations? Or is it too late? Will both countries be hit hard? he Cassandra Group will tell you its truth—but you may not want to believe it. Shame on you.

The Cassandra Project

The Cassandra Project

The Cassandra Project

Two science fiction masters—Jack McDevitt and Mike Resnick—team up to deliver a classic thriller in which one man uncovers the hidden history of the United States space program… “Houston, we have a problem…” Formerly a cynical, ambitious PR man, Jerry Culpepper finally found a client he could believe in when he was hired as NASA’s public affairs director. Proud of the Agency’s history and sure of its destiny, he was thrilled to be a part of its future. But public disinterest and budget cuts changed that future. Now, a half century after the first Moon landing, Jerry feels like the only one with stars in his eyes. Then a fifty-year-old secret about the Apollo XI mission is revealed, and he finds himself embroiled in the biggest controversy of the twenty-first century, one that will test his ability—and his willingness—to spin the truth about a conspiracy of reality-altering proportions...

The Cassandra Syndrome

The Cassandra Syndrome

The Cassandra Syndrome

Anne Cortez and her son Mark were on a cruise of Scandinavia and Russia, when they witnessed a shooting. Untoward violence seemed to occur around a fellow passenger, Dr. Fawzi Senawi, an Iranian nuclear physicist. Anne and Mark tried to avoid Senawi; but could they turn their back on a dying man's plea that they save his kidnapped son? Acting on a clue, Anne surmised that this was connected to the release of the 'Stuxnet cyberworm' by the USA. This malware was supposed to deter the Iranian nuclear program. Anne and Mark sought the help of the past counter-terrorism czar and other would be patriots, but they are drawn into a deepening web of international intrigue. Could they avert the repercussions of a cyberwar that would disrupt our financial, electrical, and defense systems; and would make possible the prediction that the Dow Jones Industrial Average would fall to triple digits in 2016?

The Cassandra Complex

The Cassandra Complex

The Cassandra Complex

This is a science fiction novel of enormous scope, filled with wonders. Set earlier in the same "future history" as Inherit the Earth, Architects of Emortality, and The Fountains of Youth, The Cassandra Complex is the independent story of events crucial to the creation of the universe in which the others take place. It is the twenty-first century, a world of rapid change and biotech threats and promises. World War Three, the biotech war, is on the horizon and the world as we know it is going to end. The fateful question is, who is going to choose the kind of future that will follow, and who gets to live in this new world to come? Lisa Frieman, a forensic researcher working for the police, is attacked in her apartment. Jordan Miller, a distinguished scientist with whom Lisa once worked, has disappeared with a secret discovery. But what has he discovered that everyone wants? And why do the thieves, and their remote masters, think that Lisa has any knowledge of the secret Miller guards? Profound scientific extrapolation combined with riveting suspense make this at once a futuristic thriller and a cutting-edge SF novel. The Cassandra Complex expands the scope of Brian Stableford's growing future history and adds another major accomplishment to his long list of triumphant creations. At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

Beyond the Cassandra Prophecy The Road to Hell

Beyond the Cassandra Prophecy   The Road to Hell

Beyond the Cassandra Prophecy The Road to Hell

Climate change, global warming, rising sea levels, lack of fresh water, diminishing energy resources, economic collapse, famine, disease, natural disasters and nuclear war are what await us over the next fifteen years. In the book I describe why our days are numbered and the terrible calamity that will explode upon the face of the Earth sooner that anyone expects. No-one will escape and mankind will be overwhelmed by the speed with which events exceed even our own worst nightmares. Global warming and climate change now represent, according to the majority of scientists, a far, far greater threat to the population of the planet than any terrorist attack. As the ice caps melt, water levels over the next ten years will rise to such an extent that the world's great coastal cities, many islands and some countries will simply disappear. As parts of the world situated around the equator reach temperatures that render huge areas of the planet uninhabitable, their will be migration on a massive scale never before seen, with perhaps three billion people seeking to move to more hospitable parts of the planet. If you wish to know a little more about your future, read this book.

Muse Squad The Cassandra Curse

Muse Squad  The Cassandra Curse

Muse Squad The Cassandra Curse

The first in an action-packed debut middle grade fantasy duology about a Cuban American girl who discovers that she’s one of the nine Muses of Greek mythology. Perfect for fans of The Serpent’s Secret, the Aru Shah series, and the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series. Callie Martinez-Silva didn’t mean to turn her best friend into a pop star. But when a simple pep talk leads to miraculous results, Callie learns she’s the newest muse of epic poetry, one of the nine Muses of Greek mythology tasked with protecting humanity’s fate in secret. Whisked away to Muse Headquarters, she joins three recruits her age, who call themselves the Muse Squad. Together, the junior muses are tasked with using their magic to inspire and empower—not an easy feat when you’re eleven and still figuring out the goddess within. When their first assignment turns out to be Callie’s exceptionally nerdy classmate, Maya Rivero, the squad comes to Miami to stay with Callie and her Cuban family. There, they discover that Maya doesn’t just need inspiration, she needs saving from vicious Sirens out to unleash a curse that will corrupt her destiny. As chaos erupts, will the Muse Squad be able to master their newfound powers in time to thwart the Cassandra Curse . . . or will it undo them all?

The Cassandra Conference

The Cassandra Conference

The Cassandra Conference