Under the Open Skies

Under the Open Skies

Under the Open Skies

Living alone in the forest of Jämtland, northern Sweden, Markus Torgeby found silence, stillness and the sense of self he'd been searching for. This beautifully illustrated book is the story of his time living wild in the woods, how he discovered an inner peace and the healing power of nature.

Under the Open Skies

Under the Open Skies

Under the Open Skies

"Practical guidance for living outdoors based on the author's four years living alone in a man-made hut in the Jämtland forests of northern Sweden"--

Under the Open Skies

Under the Open Skies

Under the Open Skies

In the vein of Erling Kagge’s Silence and Lars Mytting’s Norwegian Wood, Under the Open Skies: A Practical Guide to Living Close to Nature combines escapism and adventure with a love of nature and the desire for a simpler life. Twenty years ago, Markus Torgeby traded his hectic urban lifestyle for a small hut in the forests of northern Sweden. He ended up living there for four years, in perfect solitude and in harmony with nature. Today, he and his wife Frida and their three children live in a house he built with his own hands, near the site where he once survived on nothing but oatmeal, river water and the forest’s own pantry. Framed with stunning photographs taken by Frida, Under the Open Skies is the story of Markus’s journey from broken youth, to living alone in the forest, to a self-healed family man. Torgeby is proof of the restorative powers of the outdoors and his descriptions of living close to nature combine everyday philosophy and inspirational insights with helpful advice as he shares how to make fire, the best techniques for chopping logs and how best to forage for food. Part practical guide to how to live in the wild, part a meditation on the human need for a connection with the natural world, Under the Open Skies is the beguiling and timely portrait of how the desire for a simpler existence helped one man find contentment and connection with the world around him, and how we can all learn from his experience.

Beyond Open Skies

Beyond Open Skies

Beyond Open Skies

'Beyond Open Skies' offers a systematic comparative analysis of the legal and policy dimensions of airline deregulation by federal fiat in the United States and by supranational collaboration in the European Union. The book draws upon a variety of sources, including very recent developments in U.S. and EC international aviation law, policy, and diplomacy, to propose a genuine multilateral air transport system. It examines the potential of the 'open skies' initiative, in the aftermath of the new U.S./EC air transport agreement, to inspire a genuine globalization of the world's air transport industry in such crucial aspects as the following: cabotage; ownership and citizenship requirements; route selection; airline identity; capacity; pricing regimes; competition and public aid; regulatory harmonization; labor laws; provisions for charter and/or cargo transportation; fair operation of and access to computer reservations systems; authorization of code-sharing arrangements; alliances and antitrust immunity; and dispute resolution.

Open Skies

Open Skies

Open Skies

The multilateral Open Skies Treaty was signed in 1992 (although it did not enter into force until 2002) and covers all NATO and former Warsaw Treaty members, including the main successor states to the former Soviet Union. The treaty enables states to overfly and observe the territory of one another, as part of the process of verifying and monitoring arms control agreements. As the imagery taken during observation flights is accessible to all parties, the treaty places all members on an equal footing and requires crews of the inspecting and inspected states to work closely together. This publication, based on research carried out during 1995-2000, examines the concept of the Open Skies regime and prospects for its future adaptation, taking into account current international security needs and technological possibilities.

Open Skies

Open Skies

Open Skies


Life Under Open Skies

Life Under Open Skies

Life Under Open Skies

Inspired by over twenty-five years of practicing and teaching bushcraft throughout North America, survival instructor Tony Nester recounts backcountry tales of nomadic adventures using traditional skills that have faded from the modern world. Laced with humor, insight, and nerve-wracking encounters with wildlife, sandstorms, flash floods, brutal cold, and unpredictable clients, Life Under Open Skies reveals a rare look into the often misunderstood world of survival. Chapters include: Bare Bones Survival Guardian Flash Flood! Survival is All in Your Perspective Cold A Five Scorpion Night KUYI The Cave Where Tom Lived Gramps A Tale of Two Countries Nightmare on Elm Creek A Real Man Ground Tales Cowboy Tough Bake, Chill, Repeat Gift of the Deer The Amazing Cowpie Firestarting Technique Three Dog Night When Yucca Was King Al Sieber: Master of Bushcraft The Schism Between Worlds About the Author: Tony Nester is the author of numerous books and DVDs on survival. His school Ancient Pathways is the primary provider of survival training for the Military Special Operations community, and he has served as a consultant for the NTSB, FAA, Travel Channel, NY Times, Backpacker Magazine, and the film Into the Wild. For years he wrote a popular monthly column for Outside Magazine and his freelance writing is frequently featured in numerous print publications.

Under Open Skies

Under Open Skies

Under Open Skies

"Sunshine, summer breezes, little creatures and endless adventures make every day an amazing day in Under Open Skies. From sun up to sundown, one child explores the beauty of one fine day spent with nature as a companion"--Book jacket.